Busy year ahead for Welsh Sea Rowing!

At a well attended AGM in Aberystwyth, on 23rd January, the Welsh Sea Rowing Association committed itself to the continued expansion and development of the sport after a successful 2008. The meeting also saw widespread changes to the WSRA Committee as several long serving members decided it was time to take a well earned break!

The series of North and South League races were well attended in 2008, and the dates and venues for the 2009 events were approved and are now available on the Association’s new website, www.welshsearowing.org.

The Association also decided to include Yoles as a special category of their own at future races. This reflects the growing popularity of Yoles amongst the Welsh clubs, due in part to the fact that Yoles can offer sea rowers the opportunity to compete at an international level.

It was also agreed that to preserve the vitality of the sport, clubs must be more active during 2009 in terms of recruiting junior members and creating links with local schools and communities.

In terms of Committee changes, long term stalwarts Mick Fothergill and Dave Thomas resigned as Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively. In his final Chairman’s report, Mick thanked his fellow committee members for their hard work over the last 12 months. Their efforts had meant that WSRA members enjoyed an excellent range of races and also maintained their impressive safety record. In closing, he reflected on how much he had enjoyed his tenure as Chairman and thanked all for their support and warm friendship over the last few years.

In her opening comments, the new chair, Helen Stewart thanked Mick and Dave for their great contribution to sea rowing over the years and proposed a vote of thanks which was well received by all present. She hoped that 2009 would be a vibrant year for the Association and echoed Mick’s earlier remarks about clubs increasing their involvement with local schools and communities.

Elsewhere on the Committee, Pete Fletcher continues as President and Dylan Evans becomes the new Vice Chair. Jayne Brooks remains in her role as Membership Secretary and Treasurer with Jasmine Sharp taking on Helen’s old position as Secretary. Andy Cox becomes Communications Officer, Mike Ashbridge is the new Publicity and Development Officer and Mike Miles remains Safety officer.

Read Next

Concept 2 – Workout of the Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welsh »